Weight-Loss Challenge

This is my second round for the Weight-Loss Challenge. Last time I lost 12 lbs in 12 weeks. I’m hoping to lose about another 10. That would put me around 160 lbs on my 5’8″ frame. Not skinny by any standards, but I would be comfortable there.

Funny thing about my weight loss. Almost 2 years ago I weighed in at my all-time high, 209 lbs. I’ll find a picture to post soon. As of last night, I’m down to 172 and happier than I have been in a long time. Strange thing is, I never went on a diet. I’m not sure what changed, but I find that I no longer live to eat, but eat to live. I don’t eat unless I’m hungry, and if I’m craving a cookie, I’ll have 2-3 and be done with them. I’m certain that having less stress in my life is a huge reason I lost the weight. Sometime early last year it started coming off slowly and I don’t remember changing anything with my habits. I’ve lost 38 lbs and two pant sizes in about a year and a half and it’s one of the first times I think it’s actually going to stay off. The main reason being that I haven’t actually dieted. Nothing is being denied. I cook with butter and oil, I try not to eat any “fake” foods (margarine, artificial sweeteners, etc.), and if I want to eat something, I eat it, I just don’t feel the need to clean my plate or go for seconds.

Now that I’m practicing Tae Kwon Do, it’s the first time that I have regular, intense exercise as part of my life and I don’t feel like I have to work at it. I enjoy it, and still do after several months. It doesn’t hurt that even when I really, really don’t feel like going, I go anyway because I know I will feel so much better for it afterwards, which I always do.

Update: Ok, this is the best I could do so far. My husband has one I need to get from him that is better (worse?). This was at around 209 lbs. last year.

Laundry Day

Ugh, it’s painful to see that belly. I was probably sucking it in too. I’ll have to find (or take) a picture of me recently that shows the difference. Maybe I should just stage another shot like this one.  I still have the top and pants I think, might be an interesting experiment.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

