Did I get kicked in the head and not remember?

Last night at TKD we were paired up to work on applications. My first partner is far from my favorite, but there isn’t much I can do about it. I was happy with my performance last night, I felt focused and energized and actually felt capable for a moment. However, doing our applications I got kicked in the elbow…repeatedly. It might be the way I hold my arms, perhaps I’m not keeping my elbows in when I am in the defensive position. Or maybe I’m supposed to learn some lesson about minor injuries this week. Two days prior we were doing our kick-punch drills on the standing bags. Our instructor hopped on our bag to punch while I was kicking. There was some poor timing involved because I managed to strike his bony elbow with the top of my foot. I’m sporting an interesting bruise right near my toes.

Anyhoo, this morning I was heading out for coffee and to pick up some Burger King for my husband. His request, the thought of BK in the morning makes my stomach do flip flops. I either really thought it was a bad idea for him to have that or I got kicked in the head last night and don’t remember. I went towards BK and when I came to that street, I turned the wrong way. After turning myself around I managed to pass it right up without realizing it until I got to the Starbucks down the street. Since I was there, I got my coffee and promptly forgot where I parked the car. After a few awkward moments I found it and got his BK and finally got on my way. It’s a miracle I remembered how to get home.

1 Comment

  1. I hate when I hit the top of my foot, I’ve had many bruises from hitting elbows, the bag the wrong way, knees…you name it I probably aimed wrong. I just started sparring last night (I know red belt and just starting) but I wasn’t thrilled with the idea of letting people kick/punch me. I finally put the gear on last night and just got into it. I actually enjoyed it, even if I did get my butt kicked 🙂

    I’ve also had days where I think my mind forgot to sync with my body 😉


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

