Made the appointment

I finally bit the bullet and made an appointment with an orthopedic doctor who specializes in sports medicine. Ever since I tried the green belt jump kick that I mentioned here, my ankle has been in a constant dull throb. Nothing that interferes with anything, but when I move it a certain way or have a moment to actually think about it I notice it’s there. That and the past week my achilles tendon area has felt really tight on that foot as well. When I get down in my stances, especially during my poomsae, when that foot is in back it feels like I have no elasticity in it and it hurts. It’s not constant, but only moving certain ways (like walking barefoot on my hardwood floors). Unfortunatlely I don’t see him for 2 weeks but I’m hoping nothing goes wrong in that time.

Since I just made the commitment to accelerate and I’m at the dojang 3-4 times a week, I really don’t want to have to back off. I really hope it’s nothing more major than a strain. I’m so psyched up for the extra training I fear any interruption with wipe out my motivation and energy level.

2 Comments

  1. Oh I’m curious what the orthopedic doctor says. I noticed since I started sparring my ankle hurts when I move it a certain way too.

  2. I’ll definitely let you know. I really want to be able to learn and master the jump kicks and I’m hoping I’ll be able to in the near future.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

