Personal Mission Statement

I’m in the process of creating a personal mission statement for myself.  I think I’ve got a decent start on it, and I’m certain that it will evolve over time, but I was happy enough with what I have so far that I would like to share it with all of you, so here goes:

Amy’s Mission Statement

Continually striving to create in myself a person who is:

  • Strong, in mind and body
  • Confident
  • Courageous
  • Loving, both of myself and others
  • Joyful

…allowing me to share with others the abundance of all that I have.

It’s still fairly simple and I think I like it that way, less to remember and clutter up my thinking.  After discussing it with Grandmaster today, it may change a bit, but we’ll see.

Oh, and I had my first physical therapy appointment yesterday.  Simply put I have tendonitis, it seems primarily in the achille’s tendon.  I was given some exercises to do a few times a day, was told to ice my foot/ankle twice a day and got a massage that was like fingernails on the chalkboard.  It started off fine enough, but at a certain point, the therapist starts manipulating the tendons and I can feel them kind of rolling around under his fingers and it’s not all that pleasant.  He did notice that my calf seems really tight as well and that also contributes to the tight achille’s.

The exercises are so simple I feel like I should smack myself on the head V8 style saying “I should have known that”.  But sometimes the simplest things seem the hardest to figure out.  I did a few stretches before getting out of bed this morning and it made a huge difference.  The past few weeks I would get out of bed and hobble downstairs all stiff and sore, and after doing the exercises I was able to move around without really noticing as much stiffness and it was a lot less uncomfortable as well.  I know, a total “DUH!” moment, but it was enough to motivate me to keep it up.

Hopefully I’ll be able to update this blog more often.  I’m currently feeling way overscheduled between private lessons, PT appointments, and end of year field trips and activities for the girls that I am chaperoning.  I think in the past 4 days I’ve had about 2 hours of personal time, not nearly enough.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

