I swear this isn’t the “Tendonitis Blog” despite appearances

…but it sure seems to be lately.   Was at therapy this morning and the tech, who happens to also be a personal trainer, tells me I need to find something other than tae kwon do to do.  Is she out of her ever-loving mind?  I can’t imagine taking a break from it unless I’m on some tropical island somewhere.  I’ve tried to back off the jumps (although it’s turning out to be a battle between my body and my brain), and I’m going to try to NOT run as a warmup in class.   I’m hoping those little modifications will be enough to give my Achilles time to heal and stop with the complaining already.

Oh, and in the realm of sports injuries/maladies, I’ve discovered Google is SO not your friend.  Every site seems to have the same advice, something like “Totally give up what you love and are good at and what keeps you sane so your OLD and CREAKY 36 year old self doesn’t rip herself in two!”.

Now, I’m not an idiot.  Pain is the body’s way of telling you it’s not happy.  But minor to moderate discomfort seems to be a bigger gray area.  Sure it can be a warning sign of some impending doom, but it can also indicate that something is wonky in form or execution.  If I can just make it through the next month and a half, my activity level will go down a smidge and the extra day or two of rest between lessons/classes might be all my body needs to get over itself.

Throttling back is turning out to be a tough mental exercise though.  When it comes to injuries, I tend to want to man up and keep going.  I think it’s because I don’t want to be thought of as a fragile or dainty woman (hah!).  Plus, each month that goes by is one month closer to black belt.  You know how people say “I’ll rest when I’m dead”?  I feel like saying “I’ll rest when I get my black belt”.

A year and a half, that’s all that I’m asking, that’s all that I need for now.  A year and a half.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

