I am a Warrior!

Had what we call boot camp over the weekend. It’s a requirement for those of us that are planning on getting our black belt in the next year (I’m planning on testing October 2009). I don’t want to go into to many specifics, except that it was very much like a self-help seminar, led by Grandmaster. I did get to climb and jump off a 30 foot pole and there was some hands-free rebar bending involved as well. At first, I wasn’t so sure I got much out of the weekend. Then something changed. Something subtle. I barely noticed it until I was asked to stand in front of class and talk about the weekend and I noticed something. I wasn’t nervous. At all. Usually I’m fighting a flop sweat and stammering and stumbling all over myself. Today I actually felt taller. I’m not of course, but I’m walking a little taller than usual. My performance in the dojang improved (except for sparring, that I still suck at). And Grandmaster sent a few pictures he took of us over the weekend, and I look relaxed! The biggest change I’ve noticed is that no longer do I just think about wanting to be a better person and taking better care of myself, but I’m actually doing it. The lack of specifics is frustrating, I know, but it’s the nature of the beast. It’s kind of like, if I try to explain, the magic disappears.

The running is going well too. Since I started last week, I’ve already increased the amount of time I’m running compared to walking, and I’ve reduced my time from a 13 minute mile, to a 11.5 minute mile. I’m sure I’ll get even quicker as I get stronger.

I now leave you with a thought to ponder in your moment of Zen:

Donald Duck’s middle name is Fauntleroy.

Wait, that’s not it. Here it is, a wonderfully apropos (at least to me) Note from the Universe I received the other day:

Amy, it’s high time that you step forward to claim and demand whatever it is that you want from life.

Just remember though, the gate keeper who will give it to you is the same gate keeper who has kept it from you… your gorgeous self.

Basically, I think the Universe is telling me that I need to get out of my own damn way.

1 Comment

  1. That subtle shift is magic, homeslice. It’s what martial arts is all about.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

