Rolling, Rolling, Rolling

Was in class tonight doing tornado kicks and was actually doing really well, when suddenly I wobbled on a landing and next thing I know, my foot rolls under me and I hit the ground. My ankle immediately swelled up like a golf ball and I’m stunned. I swear it happened in slow motion, I could see what was coming and couldn’t do a damned thing to prevent it. The kids and my husband finished up class while I elevated my ankle and put ice on it, and then we high-tailed it to the emergency room. The doctor was worried that I could have broken by tibia (fibula? I can’t remember which one he mentioned), so I was off for x-rays.

Thank goodness it isn’t broken. It is a severe sprain though and I’ve been instructed to use crutches for a week and limit activity for a while so the ligament can heal. I’m supposed to test this month on the 25th. Either that’s going to happen with some limitations imposed on me, or I’m going to have to put it off a month. That pisses me off more than anything. I was doing so well, and I feel like I’ve improved a hell of a lot in the past month or so, and now I need to back off to heal…..again. Not only that, but I get gun shy when it comes to my ankles. Thankfully, it’s not the one that was bothering me a few months ago, and it’s also not the foot that I normally land on, which makes it puzzling as to how I rolled it. I think it was going into the tornado kick, I must have overturned or leaned a little bit to far when I was turning and threw my balance off. There’s no other time my weight was on that foot, since it’s the foot that I usually kick with (my right).

Tomorrow I call my sports doctor and will probably wind up going through therapy….again. Unfortunately, it’s my driving foot, so I’m not sure how I’m going to manage when I need to get my kids to their activities as well. I’m sure my husband and I will be able to work something out. I’m going to take it as a sign that I need to slow down a bit. Staying in the Tae Kwon Do environment is a priority for me though, so I’m going to try to do something at the dojang, even if it is just standing there and doing the hand and arm movements to my poomsae or my applications. Shoes for martial arts might be in my future as well. Given that my flat feet already cause enough foot pain to be distracting, the extra support they give might be the best thing for me. As soon as the swelling and pain is gone I’m going to try some out and hopefully I can find some that work for me. Until then, I’m sitting on the sidelines.

*sigh*

5 Comments

  1. Oh, no! Sorry to hear about your ankle. Good luck at the sports doctor.

  2. I’m sorry to hear that. I have flat “Fred Flintstone” feet too…so attractive on a woman…I HATE my flat feet. And they really hurt and give me alot of problems. I could probably do a lot more and alot better if I had arches in my feet.

  3. I’m sorry to hear that! Those tornado kicks are killer. After my belt testing my Master decided I wasn’t doing them fast enough so I spent a majority of my time in class on Wednesday doing just those. I hope your ankle is starting to feel better soon! I’m sorry you might have to delay your next test!

  4. Thanks you guys! I’m not sweating it as much as I did my other injury, which helps. I figure I’ll just do what I can to heal properly, and get back into it when I can. Hopefully it’s something I can start small with and try to ramp up to full activity.

  5. Ouch! Crossing my fingers that you can get back into the swing of things quickly.

    Do the martial arts attract women with flat feet or something? My feet are pretty much completely archless, and while they don’t bother me themselves, I have MCL problems intermittently because the hyperpronation throws my knee alignment off.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

