A Cluttered Desk is a Sign of Genuis

If that’s true, I’ve got an IQ off the charts.  Are any of you out there hyper-organized?  How do you do it, especially with kids?  I feel like I clean the same parts of the house day after day.  We have too much stuff around here as well.  I can’t figure out where to make it all fit.  I feel like I’m constantly moving a pile of stuff from one surface to another without really coming up with a solution to why there is a pile in the first place.

I’ll admit, I am pretty far from Suzy Homemaker.  I’m also currently injured, but that’s beside the point.  Stepping away from the computer is the first part, I get that, and I’m working on it.  I just feel like our entire house and all our “stuff” is just tossed in the general direction where it belongs.  A system either barely exists, or doesn’t exist at all.  And when I try to come up with a system (either for laundry or a schedule to try to keep the house up, or even how to keep the mail from spreading, multiplying, and totally taking over the peninsula in my kitchen), I’m the only one here trying to follow it, no matter how much I try to get the other resisdents of this household to get on board.

I’m not kidding though in wanting to know how you all do it.  I’m embarrassed about my house, it’s often cluttered and messy enough (mostly from the kids, DH is included in that) that I would never invite anyone in.  And how do I not become queen bitch around here for trying to keep the place neat?  I’m just wondering if any of you have a system you follow, and if there is any time left over for hobbies, cooking, or doing whatever?

I’ve put in a distress call to my mom.  I think I’m too close to all this crap around here to see it all clearly.  Outside help is needed.

Not sure what’s pushing me to the breaking point though.  I think a lot of it is Seasonal Affective Disorder, which is currently kicking my ass.  I’m tired constantly, I freakin’ wake up tired even after 8 hours of sleep.  I’m trying to use my lightbox, but have yet to find a way to get on a regular schedule with physical therapy and other appointments getting in the way during the day.

So, those of you who have a grasp on organization (or at least appear to, to the outsider), what’s your secret?

2 Comments

  1. When you figure it out, please let me know. All I can do is blame the world we live in…too much to do and not enough time to do it. Technology is supposed to SAVE us time not make us do more, which I think it does. Remember alot of our moms didn’t have to work. If I could afford to stay home and did not have to work, I wouldn’t. (Dont’ get me wrong – love my job – but my “real” job is raising my family and guess what? They have to get what is left over after 8 hours at work…not fair.)

  2. I’m with both of you. To say my housekeeping leaves something to be desired is a massive understatement. I’m also having something of a nervous breakdown on the matter right now, though I know where it’s coming from. In two months, a college friend is coming for a week’s visit. She and her husband are the most tremendous neatnicks I’ve ever known, putting even my grandmothers to shame. My house on the neatest day it’s ever had ( right after eight people spent an entire day scrubbing the thing), would be a hovel by her standards.

    The sad thing is that I am a stay-at-home Mom, and it really doesn’t help much. I’m not much neater than I was when I worked.

    You might try flylady.com though. The one time I’ve had some luck with housekeeping, I was following the Flylady program. Unfortunately since we moved, it doesn’t seem to be working for me in the new house with the new schedule. I’m not quite sure why.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

