Yummy, Yummy, Joy, Joy

Went to the bookstore today to pick up All New Square Foot Gardening and a few other books.  For the longest time I’ve been wanting to pick up a Cooking Light cookbook, so I grabbed Cooking Light Superfast Suppers: Speedy Solutions for Dinner Dilemmas.

Wow.

I made the Italian Pork Chops with Rosemary-Garlic Foccacia and steamed broccoli.  Including the trip to the store it took me 45 minutes.  It only took about 5 minutes of prep and 20 of cooking total.  And it was very, very tasty.  I’m so glad I picked this cookbook up.  It’s very nicely set up as well, instead of the usual sections for sides, salads, soups, etc., it gives you entire meal recipes (one dish meals, cold meals, slow cooker meals) and tells you what to do when – it actually helps you multitask.  The recipe I made was a combination of fresh and prepared items.  I used canned roasted red peppers, minced garlic, and refrigerated pizza dough, but the rest was right out of the produce section.

I’ve been struggling lately with finding the time to make dinner and also deciding what to eat.  I get bored super easy and after I make a dish 2-3 times, I’m done with it.  What was neat was that it was also a colorful meal between the tomatoes, peppers and broccoli, it looked better than most of the stuff coming out of my kitchen lately.  The timing of everything worked out so well that I was able to clean up as I cooked so there was nothing left for me to do once I was finished eating.  Once I’ve exhausted the possibilities of this cookbook, I’m definately going to try another one from Cooking Light.

*Disclaimer*

The links to the books are associate links.  Should you click on them and purchase something from Amazon, they throw a few pennies my way.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

