Pushy Woman

Have any of you attempted/completed the 100 Push-Up Challenge?  I was wondering what you all thought of it.  I need to do a physical project for TKD and since running is currently out, I thought this would be great.  Like a lot of women, I suffer from a not-so-strong upper body.  It’s gotten much better since starting TKD over a year ago, but there is a LOT of room for improvement.

Not sure if I would do these on my knees or not.  Probably, but that would bug me.  Unfortunately, my core is still weak enought that my back starts protesting when I do full, grown-up type push-ups.

On a side note, I stumbled upon the fact that I am the featured blog for Tae Kwon Do here on WordPress.  Cool!

5 Comments

  1. I have been playing with this on and off. It’s definitely improved how many push-ups I can do, but I seem to need to improve slowly or I develop a problem with my left elbow, probably either tendonitis or bursitis, based on how it feels.

    But I have gone from 15 pushups to over 30 over the last few months.

  2. In class, we usually do 10 regular “adult” pushups, then 10 “triangle” pushups for the triceps and then 10 knuckle pushups, which are basically the same as regular adult push ups except you’re on your knuckles, with the emphasis on the first two knuckles. I can’t imagine doing 100 of any of them!

  3. I gave the 100 Push Up Program a try. I did increase my number of push ups but I did not make it to 100. I got stuck at week three and had to keep repeating that week. I gave it a try for about six weeks but only officially made it to week three. My shoulder started popping so I took a break from the program.

    Congratulations on being the featured blog!

  4. I started it and made it to weeek 4 and stalled. After 2 weeks of no progress, I changed my tactic. I do push-ups 3 days a week, on days we have no class. In class I do planks when others do push-ups. My push-up days I do 10-15 deep, quality push-ups every 1-1.5 hours (unless I forget to set a timer). By the end of the day I’ve done 100. Now I’m working on doing them on my knuckles but haven’t reached 100 in a day. I know its not the same endurance thing as doing 100 all at once but in the end, I’ve still knocked out 250-300 REAL push-ups in a week. That’s more than most people my age I know can say.

  5. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve started this plan. I’ve got week 1 down pretty good, but after that I fall apart.

    I’ll try again if you do, m’kay?


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

