Festivus (for the rest of us)

My day today was, shall we say, a little stressful.   Mostly due to the weather.  In the past two days we have gotten around 6 inches of snow.  I thought I was pretty much done with the Christmas shopping, but after a little chat with Amazon yesterday that did not go in my favor, I had to brave the elements and do some shopping.  At Toys ‘R Us.  Two days before Christmas.  With a bird.  Yes, a bird.  We took our little parakeet to the vet in the nasty weather to get his nails trimmed.  I’d do it myself, but I tried that a few times.  Once I think I broke one his toes.  They are about the size of a toothpick, and I’m pretty much an oaf, so to the vet it was.  Then the toy store.  With the bird.  Wrapped in a blanket.

No, I didn’t feel weird at all.

Anyway, after slogging through unplowed and unsalted roads for 30 minutes to get to the vet, I was not inclined to drive all the way back home when I was closer to Toys ‘R Us than I was home.  And being that the little bird weighs a whopping 45 grams, I thought he might freeze in slightly under 5 minutes, so we wrapped his travel cage in a warm blanket and brought him into the store.  On the way home I wanted to stop at Dunkin’ Donuts to get gift cards for a few family members who go there for coffee all the time.  I stop at the one near the dojang.  Only one card left.  I grab that one and go to the second DD.  Score!  I get my remaining cards and get ready to pull into traffic. (BTW, my 10 yo stayed in the car with the bird at DD).  I’m waiting for a HUGE break in traffic when what do I spot outside of the store, just a few feet from a giant inflatable Santa?  This:

Festivus

The Festivus pole outside of the Dunkin’ Donuts made my day.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

