How to Render Your Arms Useless

1.  Demonstrate push up progress in front of entire TKD academy.  Crank out 47 of those bad boys, beating your previous record of 40 set mere days ago.

2.  Follow with a punching drill.  Punch standing bag for 1 minute, rest 15 seconds, punch bag for 2 minutes, rest 30 seconds, punch bag for 3 minutes.

3.  Test for your next level belt.

Oof I’m going to be sore tomorrow.  I passed easily and even broke my board with a jump spin kick (ddwieu dwit dollyeo chagi) on the first try.  Also received NO negative critique about my performance.  Every one else was told something they needed to work on and improve, I was told my performance was excellent.  Being in that zone where everything goes right is such an awesome feeling.  I had two totally different experiences this past week with my performance and wasn’t sure how today was going to go.  In Tuesday’s class, I got the normal level of hot and sweaty, but right before sparring it changed into that clammy icky feeling.  I sat out the rest of class so I wouldn’t have to be peeled off the mat that evening.  Thursday’s class went better, and today before the test when Grandmaster was checking my kick, I nailed every single one with ease.  Even a few black belts said that it looked really good.  I have to admit, it felt damn good as well!  Even better, my sparring has improved.  I still have a long way to go, but for the first time I didn’t dread it, and I didn’t feel as though I did poorly.

I wish my kids had my same enthusiasm, but alas, it is not to be.  My 10 year old has decided, with Grandmaster, to take a month off from TKD.  She is currently a purple belt, and apparently it is common at this level for the kids to suffer a bit of burnout.  She has been throwing tantrums about going to class that puts her 8 year old sister to shame.  She still is coming with me, but will not be participating for a while.  Hopefully it will help.  I think she got a bit overwhelmed with the overlap her swim schedule had on class.  Her swim season ended last week, and with it our horrific schedule of not being home every day Monday through Friday.  She did end her swim season well, she had 4 time drops and she won one of her heats.

My 8 year old has surprised me this week by actually practicing her guitar and making excellent progress there, and I got to see her ice skate for the first time since she started lessons at the beginning of the year.  I never imagined that watching her skate in circles around the rink could be so captivating.  She seems to be a natural, and I can’t wait to see how she progresses.  It’s so rewarding as a parent to see the kids choose activities they love and then see them do so well at them.  Now that swimming is over, we need to keep the 10 year old active, lest she become a couch potato.  Unfortunately, that was one tendency she inherited from me that I would like to eliminate.

I also submitted my next project for TKD.  I’m going to start a meditation/visualization routine.  I’m planning on setting my alarm about 15 minutes earlier so I can find a quiet space where I won’t be disturbed, and I will focus on my breathing and getting a good start to the day.  Every evening before bed, I will visualize for a minimum of 5 minutes.  I will work on going through all my TKD requirements in my head, as well as reviewing and reflecting on the day and focusing on my goals.  Other students who have done this in the past have seen amazing improvements in their attitude and focus.

For my last project I’m picking a photography project.   In a flash of inspiration today I knew exactly what to do for it.  I decided that I will document all facets of my life.  As a mother, as a wife, as a woman, as a martial artist, etc.  I will take pictures of what I do, where I go, people I interact with.  Not only should it be a lot of fun, but there are a lot of opportunities for creativity.  I’m already itching to figure out how to light and capture the awesomeness that is Grandmaster’s hands.  He has these gnarly looking hands that are endlessly fascinating to look at.  Ideally, I would like to have the pictures bound in a hardbound book.  The more I think about the project, the more excited I get about it.

1 Comment

  1. Just passing by.Btw, you website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

