Cockiness Gets You Nowhere

No, I’m not going to give you a whole life lesson on how being cocky is wrong or bad, blah blah blah.  I’m going to give you an example of the universe making sure  I know my place.

Last week my husband and younger daughter contracted a stomach bug (hereafter to be known as “the plague”).  I kept my distance, and let my husband, now recovered, take care of the little one to close the loop so to speak.

Yesterday I distinctly remember looking in the mirror while doing my hair and thinking that I was lucky and smart to have avoided the plague.

You can see what’s coming can’t you?

Last night I couldn’t sleep, I was uncomfortable with what I thought was menstrual cramps (which was part of it, thank you universe for the cosmic smack down), but I got up and went to the bathroom to be sick.  And pass out.

Already, less than 12 hours later I’m feeling better, thanks to some dry toast, water, and advil, but I have learned my lesson.  Until I forget and get cocky again.

1 Comment

  1. I know I’m beating a dead horse, but the universe let me know my place when my husband left. Here I always felt so smug that I had a 22-plus year marriage…

    I’m ashamed of that too, and not so smug anymore…


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

