Longing and Sentimentality

I’ve kind of been missing my old blog.  I used to have a blog called PsychoBabble.  For a while it was somewhat popular and I had a lot of fun with it.  Then I had a real-life friend shit all over me through my blog and I let it languish.  Then I shelved it.  I owned the domain name and paid for hosting and I just couldn’t justify that anymore.

For whatever reason, I looked it up on the Wayback Machine.  A lot of my writing didn’t horrify me, in fact I was pretty damn pleased with myself.  It kind of made me want to resurrect it.

But things change.  People change.  My main reason for shutting it down was I felt that I had entered a new stage in my life and I wanted a fresh start.  I have it archived – hopefully – on an old hard drive.  But that hard drive was damaged after one too many times of falling off my desk and I can’t even remember if I copied my files elsewhere after my husband was able to retrieve them.

Over the relatively short time I’ve had this blog, the topics and focus have slowly expanded to include parts of my world and life other than Tae Kwon D0.  It’s my roundabout way of saying I don’t do well with a blog limited to a single topic.  This year I’m going to try to use it more as a personal journal (within reason) and get back into the blogging groove.

I still miss my old blog.  Or maybe it’s being a little sentimental for the old me.  Things seemed a little simpler then, as they tend to when looking backward through soft-focus lenses.  I think resurrecting it would be a mistake, a way of living in the past instead of the present.

Maybe I’ll buy a domain name for myself.  Not necessarily use it, just buy it and park it.  Keep it a while for the “what if”.

2 Comments

  1. I find that my blog runs through cycles. It becomes an almost exclusively karate blog sometimes, and then will veer over into being a medical blog, or a music blog, or just a mix of whatever is present in my life at the time.

    I’ve toyed with the idea of getting a domain name for a while, but a) have no idea what name I would grab, and b) don’t really know what I would do with it, unless or until I become a more public/published writer.

  2. A lot of that sentimentality going around, it seems. 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

