Kitchen Creativity

My youngest daughter turned 9 years old today and had the best day.  They had a pizza party in class that happened to coincide with her special day.  Daddy is taking her out for a birthday treat shortly and I baked her a cake.

Becca is my ice skater.  She’s been skating for a year now and it’s amazing what she’s learned in that time.  Just today she learned the toe loop.  Don’t ask me what that is, I know it’s a jump but other than that, I can’t really say.

Tomorrow we are having family over and I need to be at the dojang in the morning, so that meant that today I had to make her cake.  Usually I make the icing from scratch but I just cleaned the kitchen and I really didn’t feel like cleaning up powdered sugar for the next two days.  So I bought a couple tubs of icing from Wilton.  Each tub says it can ice 10 single layer cakes, but I call bullshit.  That stuff could cover 10 cakes if they are maybe 6 inches in diameter each.  This cake is made from 2-8″ squares and 2-8″ circles and I used a tub and a half.  Surprisingly it’s very level.  However it is listing ever so slightly to the left.  Still, to date it’s probably the most evenly leveled and iced cake I’ve ever made.  I’d love to say that I made something in it from scratch, but no, I do not have that kind of time, so cake mix it is.    The skater is made from buttercream and sparkle gel.  I made a quickie buttercream transfer (and it shows), and was dismayed to find that the gel never really froze.  Luckily it didn’t make a huge mess and I was able to go back and fix it once I had the transfer on the cake.

For the sides I thought it would be fun to have a “snowball” border with trees and snowflakes on the side.  I decided the trees would look sort of snowflakey.

I am super pleased with how it came out and Becca absolutely loves it.  I even managed to quell the shakes when piping the lettering.

2 Comments

  1. As a cake decorator myself, I want to tell you did a FABULOUS job on this cake! I just love it. I think I love the side design even better than the ice skater. How creative! (And I know what you mean about level cakes…but we who make them are much harder on ourselves than others are on our creations. And don’t feel bad about not doing it from scratch. Most cake decorators don’t.

    • Thanks! I didn’t know you decorated cakes! From your comment I assume you mean professionally. While I was at Wilton I was looking into their courses. While I’d love to take their Master Course in decorating (which culminates in a complete 3-tier wedding cake) the price – $950 is a little much in today’s economy. Plus I’m not looking to do it professionally, just hone my skills. Perhaps an individual workshop or two for now.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

