Baby Steps

Since discontinuing my training, I have put on some weight.  It was inevitable since I went from 3+ days a week training to none.  My pants are a wee bit tight and I need to try to get myself moving again.  Gardening helps, but it’s not always a workout, nor would I want it to be.  As long as we can get ourselves together in time, my youngest daughter and I will walk to and from school.  That’s at least 15-20 minutes of light movement.  My husband and I are going to the gym and I’m going to stick with cardio for now until my stamina gets back to where I need it.  I’m also attempting (and failing more often than not) to drink more liquids.

Notice I didn’t say water.  Water will factor in, but right now I’ll be happy with anything in liquid form.

I’m also trying to gently and subtly change the state of the food in our house.  My vegetable garden will help with that for sure, but one of the things I’m working to reduce in high fructose corn syrup (HFCS).  A lot of what I’ve read and heard about it is not good, and it is alarming how much corn is in everything we eat.  So as we run out of some things (like the fake maple syrup I love), I’m going to attempt to replace it with more natural stuff.  There are a few things that I’m having a hard time giving up, but there are others that have been a painless switch.  I found a bread without HFCS that I love, and my attempt to eat more natural has caused me to be even more of a label reader.  I already read labels on everything due to food allergies in my family, so it’s no more work to check for other non-desirables in the ingredient list.

I also suspect that one of the reasons I put on weight so easily is the sugar that seems to be in everything.

So give me some feedback.  Have you reduced your consumption of HFCS, and if so, have you noticed any changes in weight, mood, energy, appetite?

1 Comment

  1. Hell to the sugars ,they are everywhere.
    I suggest you go for jogging or running its a good burner!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

