Emily’s Tea Party

My daughter Emily turned 12 last week and she’s having a tea party and sleepover today.

Emily's Tea Party

Getting ready for the pre-teen invasion that is currently happening required a little bit of preparation.

First I baked a red velvet cake to make Bakerella’s Red Velvet Cake Balls.  While that was in the oven I made two batches of Rice Krispie candy and pressed it into 10 – 4″ mini cake pans.  Those went in the fridge (along with an 8″x8″ pan of candy for my husband and I).

While the cake was cooling I rolled out the leftover white marshmallow fondant from last week’s cake.  I just put a light skim coat of decorator frosting on the top and flipped them over onto the fondant, where I cut around the cake so there is only a circle of fondant on the top of the rice crispy treats.   They aren’t quite up to my standards but it allowed for the girls to do some custom decorating on their own.

Krispy Treat

I rolled out the blue and purple fondant and my daughters used a flower cookie cutter to cut out shapes.  The rolled some of the white fondant into balls as well.  I showed my oldest how to affix the fondant to itself and let her get to decorating while I cleaned up.

The cake was finally cool enough for me to make cake balls.  I used a heart shaped silicone mold to shape them.

Cake Balls
Of course I sampled one…er, maybe two…..ok, ok it was three!

This morning was spent with putting together finger sandwiches.

My daughter and I decided on four fillings:  Cucumber with dill mayonnaise, prosciutto with mozzarella and basil, bacon and onion cream cheese, and tomato with provolone and basil.  Some I cut into triangles and others into squares.  I was fortunate enough to harvest the dill, basil, and cucumber out of the garden.   All in all I made 96 tiny little finger sandwiches.  They look cute and are tasty too!

Tea Sandwiches

Now it’s time to put my feet up, have a drink, and keep one ear on what is going on in the other room.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

